Addison Blu
1 min readJul 2, 2018

--

Jimmy, the nostalgia of the original trilogy can still help a bad new Star Wars film take in a high gross revenue and do well on Netflix.

I would also expect even a relatively bad Star Wars anthology film to perform at a basic level given the brand strength, marketing, and production budgets.

As for the films being made for children, that’s not really part of the argument.

First, it’s difficult to prove that the creators had an intent of making the films primarily or exclusively for children. There are a lot of dramatic features in every Star Wars movie that lean much more towards the films being for adults with children being an expanded, accessible audience.

Second, who is to say how all children felt about The Last Jedi? Although I hoped he would enjoy the movie, my son, who is seven years old, didn’t like it. I think the weak and strong elements of the movie are consistent between age groups to a high enough degree that an adult’s opinion may still be valid.

Third, it doesn’t matter. There’s not an age restriction for viewers to adhere to, and I will judge a Star Wars movie on its storytelling merits. You can’t protect a film’s weaknesses behind a barrier by saying that it wasn’t for me and therefore I am not welcome to critique it.

I hope that you move away from your toxic attacks against people who disagree with you. Calling people neckbeards detracts from your argument about the story and studio interference, which I am interested to hear more about.

--

--

Addison Blu

Entertainment writer and marketing strategist. Has gone by many names. Studied influence in Army Psychological Operations.